Restitution:

- <u>Restitution</u> is ordered by the court when a victim is injured and the Judge holds the offender financially accountable
- Restitution comes directly from the adult or juvenile offenders
- DCVC pays awards through the compensation fund and then seeks to recover restitution which helps maintain the fund

What DCVC Will Not Pay For?

- Property Damage
- Property Replacement Costs
- Non-criminal related traffic offenses
- Pain and suffering
- Utilities
- Rent/Mortgage
- Relocation Expenses

Please call DCVC at 803.734.1900 for additional information regarding the compensation program, benefits and services.

Office of the Attorney General

Department of Crime Victim Compensation



Edgar A. Brown Building, 1205 Pendleton Street, Rm 401 Columbia, S.C. 29201 Phone: 803.734.1900 Fax: 803.734.1708 Victim's Line: 800.220.5370

http://dcvc.scag.gov

Office of the Attorney General Department of Crime Compensation



Are You Being Bullied?

If So, Counseling May Be Available

What is Bullying?

Bullying is when one person or group of people repeatedly picks on another who is seen as weaker or more vulnerable. Bullying is different from fighting and teasing. What makes it different is the way the bully repeatedly shows power over the other person. Bullies try to control others by using scare tactics.

Bullying Can Be:

- **Direct:** such as hitting, teasing or threatening.
- **Indirect:** such as excluding, spreading rumors, internet harassment or manipulation.

Help for Children Who Are Bullied:

If you feel your child is being bullied, talk to your local school officials or law enforcement.

DCVC May Be Able To Assist If ...

- There was an incident report filed with law enforcement.
- The crime was reported to law enforcement within 48 hours. If it was not, the claimant will be required to indicate in section 4 on the application why the crime was not reported within 48hours.
- The crime victim compensation was filed within 180 days of the incident. If it was not, the claimant will be required to indicate in section 4 on the application why the application was not submitted within 180 days of the incident.
- The crime occurred in South Carolina.
- The victim was directly injured, physically or emotionally.
- The victim did not initiate, provoke, cause, or contribute to the incident.
- The victim was not engaged in any illegal activity at the time of the incident.
- The victim cooperates with DCVC.
- The victim cooperates with law enforcement.
- The crime did not occur more than four years ago.

Services To Consider:

- Counseling Therapist must be a licensed therapist
- Medical Bills If the victim acquired medical expenses due to the victimization, then medical bills may be considered if directly related to victimization

Victims' Bill Of Rights:

(Excerpts from the Constitution of South Carolina, Article I, Section 24 – a condensed version of victims' rights)

To preserve and protect victims' rights to justice and due process regardless of race, sex, age, religion, economic, status, victims of crime have the right to:

- be treated with fairness, respect and dignity;
- be free from intimidation or harm throughout the criminal and juvenile justice process;
- be informed about victims' rights;
- be reasonably informed about criminal proceedings;
- be informed if the accused is arrested, released, or escapes;
- be present at criminal proceedings where the accused has the right to be present;
- be heard at proceedings affecting bond, bail, release, pleas or sentencing