Reasons Payments Are Delayed or Denied

Payments may be delayed or denied for the following reasons:

- Crime did not occur in SC
- "Remit to address" is not on the billing statement
- Providers' address submitted is not registered with S.C. Enterprise Information System (SCEIS)
- Victims' name was not found on the law enforcement report
- Untimely filing of claim (claim received after 180 days from date of service)
- The victim was incarcerated at the time of the crimealternate services <u>may</u> be available through the Prison Elimination Rape Act (PREA)
- Law enforcement did not order the exam/interview for victim 17 and younger

This is not an all-inclusive list



Legislation

Pursuant to Section 16-3-1350

South Carolina law which follows the guidance of the Federal Violence Against Women Act Statute, provides that victims of assault in the State of South Carolina may request, at no cost to them, a forensic examination for sexual assault, regardless of their involvement with law enforcement.

Sexual Assault Program: DCVC is the Sole Reimbursement Provider for Forensic Medical Examinations in S.C. Health Care Providers will bill DCVC directly; all reimbursements are from a fee schedule and are considered payment in full. Any injuries sustained beyond the sexual assault such as additional physical or psychological injuries will be the victim's responsibility. However, the victim may complete a Crime Victims' Compensation Application to assist with the additional needs. Please Note: Law enforcement will be involved as the crime victim compensation application is processed, unless the victim files anonymously.



http://dcvc.scag.gov (Please click on the "Provider's Tab" for additional information)

DCVC

Office of the Attorney General Department of Crime Victim Compensation

Compensation Benefits for Victims of Sexual Assault



Edgar A. Brown Building 1205 Pendleton Street, Room 401 Columbia, SC 29201 Main Office Phone: 803.734.1900

Main Office Phone: 803.734.1900 Victims Only, Please: 1.800.220.5370

http://dcvc.scag.gov

Sexual Assault (ACUTE) Protocol

Evidence collected within 120 hours of the assault for victims 18 and older

Eligibility Criteria:

- The assault **Must** have occurred in SC
- South Carolina Law Enforcement Div. (SLED) approved Sexual Assault Protocol must be followed

Required Documentation for Payment:

- DCVC Sexual Assault Protocol (SAP) Billing Statement <u>Must</u> be completed and submitted
- DCVC Medical Examination Release Form <u>Must</u> be completed and submitted
- Payment <u>Must</u> be requested within 180 days from the date of service

Anonymous Reporting

(Victims 18 and older)

• SLED approved protocol <u>Must</u> be followed in the same manner and completeness as with a traditional law enforcement forensic examination

Please Note:

When providing law enforcement information, write in "Anonymous" instead of the name of the law enforcement agency. To establish that the crime happened in SC, the incident county and state jurisdiction is required.

Criteria for Anonymous Waiver Payment:

- An eligible SAP/CAP claim is on file with DCVC and the crime must have occurred in SC
- The victim sustained physical or psychological injuries that were recorded by hospital
- DCVC must receive a <u>Compensation Application</u> with "**Anonymous**" written in section 4 within 180 days from the date of the forensic medical examination

Sexual Assault (ACUTE) Protocol Continued

NKC – Guidelines for No Evidence Collected:

When a victim of sexual assault presents to the hospital but indicates they do not want evidence collected:

- Inform the victim of their options, offering the medical forensic exam without evidence collection will follow the same procedures and will include a thorough examination of the victim within the 72/120 hour time frame
- The <u>NKC</u> box <u>Must</u> be checked on the Medical Examination Release Form
- The SLED Protocol <u>Must</u> be completed and documented on page 8 of the SLED Protocol

Sexual and Physical Assault (Chronic) Protocol

Evidence collected after 72 hours of the assault-victims 17 and younger

Criteria for Payment:

- The assault **Must** have occurred in SC
- The assault was reported to law enforcement
- Law enforcement **Must** order the exam

Required Documentation for Payment:

- Pages 1 and 2 of the Child Maltreatment Protocol Billing Statement
- Authorization and release form located in the Child Maltreatment Protocol
- Law Enforcement incident report listing each child as a victim
- Child Physical Abuse claims <u>Must</u> be submitted with a <u>Compensation Application</u> along with the Child Maltreatment Protocol
- Payment <u>Must</u> be requested within **180 days** from the date of service

Forensic Interview Evidence Collection Protocol

Interviews only ordered by law enforcement for children 17 and younger or vulnerable adults

Criteria for Payment:

- The assault **Must** have occurred in SC
- The assault was reported to law enforcement
- Interview Only ordered by law enforcement

Required Documentation for Payment:

- DCVC Billing Statement;
- DCVC Forensic Interview Release Form;
- Law Enforcement Incident Report listing each child as a victim;
- Payment must be requested within 180 days from the date of service.

Standards:

- The interview must be performed using standards defined by DCVC
- Interviewer <u>Must</u> be a Masters level licensed Mental Health Professional
- Interviewer <u>Must</u> have participated in at least one 40 hour specialized forensic interviewer training provided through the American Prosecutor's Research Institute (APRI) Finding Words, the National Children's Advocacy Center (NCAC), or the American Professional Society on the Abuse of Children (APSAC)
- Interviews <u>Must</u> be conducted at a facility that follows a multidisciplinary model

If you have questions about the program, criteria and or payment requirement, please do not hesitate to contact DCVC at 803,734,1900